New Career Path: Medication Aide!

Alabama residents who want to start a career in healthcare have a new program to consider at Alabama’s community colleges. The Medication Aide training program can be completed in a matter of weeks and prepares students to administer routine medications to patients in nursing facilities, assisted living environments, correctional institutions and more. The career path is similar to that of the Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) program, giving students the opportunity to work under licensed nurses who can train you to move up even further in your career goals! Following the successful completion of training, candidates for certification apply to the Alabama Board of Nursing to be certified through the National Council of State Boards of Nursing.

Training includes:

60 hours of classroom training and 40 hours of clinical training for a total of 100 hours. Successful completion of the course qualifies candidates to take the Medication Assistant Certification Exam.

Program Costs:

Costs vary by college, contact your local community college utilizing the information below for more information.

Requirements:

Students who want to begin this line of work will need a satisfactory criminal/consumer background check and drug screen and be at least 17 years of age by the program’s completion.

Kenneth Kirkland
Director of Health Programs
kenneth.kirkland@accs.edu
334-293-4519

Medication Aide Training Program Locations:

CollegeContact NamePhoneEmail
Bevill State Community CollegeAl Moore205-648-3271,
ext. 5405
al.moore@bscc.edu
Bishop StateDave Felton251-405-7118dfelton@bishop.edu
Calhoun Community CCommunity CollegeDiane Peck256-306-2515diane.peck@calhoun.edu
Central Alabama Community CollegeDr. Jennifer Steele256-378-4900jsteele@cacc.edu
Chattahoochee Valley Community CollegeDr. Shirley Armstrong334-291-4964shirley.armstrong@cv.edu
Coastal Alabama Community CollegeDr. Jean Graham251-580-2293jean.graham@coastalalabama.edu
Coastal Alabama Community College
Coastal Alabama Community College
Drake State Community CollegeBob Grissim256-551-3145robert.grissom@drakestate.edu
Enterprise State Community CollegeLeah Shiver334-347-2623,
ext. 2209
lshiver@escc.edu
Gadsden State Community CollegeAlan Smith256-549-8601asmith@gadsdenstate.edu
Jeff State Community CollegeLeah Bigbee205-856-7917leah.bigbee@jeffersonstate.edu
Jeff State Community College (Clanton)
Lawson State Community CollegeTommyy Hobbs205-929-3521thobbs@lawsonstate.edu
Lurleen B Wallace Community CollegeMrs. Jennifer Hall334-493-5315jmh@lbwcc.edu
Northeast Community CollegeDr. Mike Kennamer256-228-6001,
ext. 2291
kennamerm@nacc.edu
Northwest Shoals Community CollegeMark Simpson256-331-5435msimpson@nwscc.edu
Reid State Technical CollegeDr. Coretta Boykin251-578-1313,
ext. 137
cboykin@rstc.edu
Shelton State Community CollegeNicole Dubose205-391-5860ndubose@sheltonstate.edu
Snead State Community CollegeTeresa Walker256-840-4211twalker@snead.edu
Southern Union State Community CollegeRhonda Davis334-742-2973rdavis@suscc.edu
Trenholm State Community CollegeDanny Perry334-420-4277dperry@trenholmstate.edu
Wallace (Dothan)Joe Johnson334-556-2390jjohnson@wallace.edu
Wallace SelmaDr. Sarah Davis334-876-9337sarah.davis@wccs.edu
Wallace State (Hanceville)Suzanne Harbin256-352-8144suzanne.harbin@wallacestate.edu
Bevill State Community CollegeAl Moore205-648-3271,
ext. 5405
al.moore@bscc.edu
Shelton State Community CollegeNicole Dubose205-391-2251ndubose@sheltonstate.edu

FIND A COLLEGE

JOB POSTINGS

CONTACT US