New Career Path: Medication Aide!

Alabama residents who want to start a career in healthcare have a new program to consider at Alabama’s community colleges. The Medication Aide training program can be completed in a matter of weeks and prepares students to administer routine medications to patients in nursing facilities, assisted living environments, correctional institutions and more. The career path is similar to that of the Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) program, giving students the opportunity to work under licensed nurses who can train you to move up even further in your career goals! Following the successful completion of training, candidates for certification apply to the Alabama Board of Nursing to be certified through the National Council of State Boards of Nursing.

Training includes:

60 hours of classroom training and 40 hours of clinical training for a total of 100 hours. Successful completion of the course qualifies candidates to take the Medication Assistant Certification Exam.

Program Costs:

Costs vary by college, contact your local community college utilizing the information below for more information.

Requirements:

Students who want to begin this line of work will need a satisfactory criminal/consumer background check and drug screen and be at least 17 years of age by the program’s completion.

Kenneth Kirkland
Director of Health Programs
kenneth.kirkland@accs.edu
334-293-4519

Medication Aide Training Program Locations:

College Contact Name Phone Email
Bevill State Community College Al Moore 205-648-3271,
ext. 5405
al.moore@bscc.edu
Bishop State Dave Felton 251-405-7118 dfelton@bishop.edu
Calhoun Community CCommunity College Diane Peck 256-306-2515 diane.peck@calhoun.edu
Central Alabama Community College Dr. Jennifer Steele 256-378-4900 jsteele@cacc.edu
Chattahoochee Valley Community College Dr. Shirley Armstrong 334-291-4964 shirley.armstrong@cv.edu
Coastal Alabama Community College Dr. Jean Graham 251-580-2293 jean.graham@coastalalabama.edu
Coastal Alabama Community College
Coastal Alabama Community College
Drake State Community College Bob Grissim 256-551-3145 robert.grissom@drakestate.edu
Enterprise State Community College Leah Shiver 334-347-2623,
ext. 2209
lshiver@escc.edu
Gadsden State Community College Alan Smith 256-549-8601 asmith@gadsdenstate.edu
Jeff State Community College Leah Bigbee 205-856-7917 leah.bigbee@jeffersonstate.edu
Jeff State Community College (Clanton)
Lawson State Community College Tommyy Hobbs 205-929-3521 thobbs@lawsonstate.edu
Lurleen B Wallace Community College Mrs. Jennifer Hall 334-493-5315 jmh@lbwcc.edu
Northeast Community College Dr. Mike Kennamer 256-228-6001,
ext. 2291
kennamerm@nacc.edu
Northwest Shoals Community College Mark Simpson 256-331-5435 msimpson@nwscc.edu
Reid State Technical College Dr. Coretta Boykin 251-578-1313,
ext. 137
cboykin@rstc.edu
Shelton State Community College Nicole Dubose 205-391-5860 ndubose@sheltonstate.edu
Snead State Community College Teresa Walker 256-840-4211 twalker@snead.edu
Southern Union State Community College Rhonda Davis 334-742-2973 rdavis@suscc.edu
Trenholm State Community College Danny Perry 334-420-4277 dperry@trenholmstate.edu
Wallace (Dothan) Joe Johnson 334-556-2390 jjohnson@wallace.edu
Wallace Selma Dr. Sarah Davis 334-876-9337 sarah.davis@wccs.edu
Wallace State (Hanceville) Suzanne Harbin 256-352-8144 suzanne.harbin@wallacestate.edu
Bevill State Community College Al Moore 205-648-3271,
ext. 5405
al.moore@bscc.edu
Shelton State Community College Nicole Dubose 205-391-2251 ndubose@sheltonstate.edu

FIND A COLLEGE

JOB POSTINGS

CONTACT US

FIND A COLLEGE
NEAR YOU