New Career Path: Medication Aide!

Alabama residents who want to start a career in healthcare have a new program to consider at Alabama’s community colleges. The Medication Aide training program can be completed in a matter of weeks and prepares students to administer routine medications to patients in nursing facilities, assisted living environments, correctional institutions and more. The career path is similar to that of the Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) program, giving students the opportunity to work under licensed nurses who can train you to move up even further in your career goals! Following the successful completion of training, candidates for certification apply to the Alabama Board of Nursing to be certified through the National Council of State Boards of Nursing.

Training includes:

60 hours of classroom training and 40 hours of clinical training for a total of 100 hours. Successful completion of the course qualifies candidates to take the Medication Assistant Certification Exam.

Program Costs:

Costs vary by college, contact your local community college utilizing the information below for more information.

Requirements:

Students who want to begin this line of work will need a satisfactory criminal/consumer background check and drug screen and be at least 17 years of age by the program’s completion.

Kenneth Kirkland
Director of Health Programs
kenneth.kirkland@accs.edu
334-293-4519

Medication Aide Training Program Locations:

College Contact Name Phone Email
Bevill State CC Al Moore 205-648-3271,
ext. 5405
al.moore@bscc.edu
Bishop State Dave Felton 251-405-7118 dfelton@bishop.edu
Calhoun Community CC Diane Peck 256-306-2515 diane.peck@calhoun.edu
Central Alabama CC Dr. Jennifer Steele 256-378-4900 jsteele@cacc.edu
Chattahoochee Valley CC Dr. Shirley Armstrong 334-291-4964 shirley.armstrong@cv.edu
Coastal Alabama CC Dr. Jean Graham 251-580-2293 jean.graham@coastalalabama.edu
Coastal Alabama CC
Coastal Alabama CC
Drake State CC Bob Grissim 256-551-3145 robert.grissom@drakestate.edu
Enterprise State CC Leah Shiver 334-347-2623,
ext. 2209
lshiver@escc.edu
Gadsden State CC Alan Smith 256-549-8601 asmith@gadsdenstate.edu
Jeff State CC Leah Bigbee 205-856-7917 leah.bigbee@jeffersonstate.edu
Jeff State CC (Clanton)
Lawson State CC Tommyy Hobbs 205-929-3521 thobbs@lawsonstate.edu
Lurleen B Wallace CC Mrs. Jennifer Hall 334-493-5315 jmh@lbwcc.edu
Northeast Community College Dr. Mike Kennamer 256-228-6001,
ext. 2291
kennamerm@nacc.edu
Northwest Shoals CC Mark Simpson 256-331-5435 msimpson@nwscc.edu
Reid State Technical College Dr. Coretta Boykin 251-578-1313,
ext. 137
cboykin@rstc.edu
Shelton State CC Nicole Dubose 205-391-2251 ndubose@sheltonstate.edu
Snead State CC Teresa Walker 256-840-4211 twalker@snead.edu
Southern Union State CC Rhonda Davis 334-742-2973 rdavis@suscc.edu
Trenholm State CC Danny Perry 334-420-4277 dperry@trenholmstate.edu
Wallace (Dothan) Joe Johnson 334-556-2390 jjohnson@wallace.edu
Wallace Selma Dr. Sarah Davis 334-876-9337 sarah.davis@wccs.edu
Wallace State (Hanceville) Suzanne Harbin 256-352-8144 suzanne.harbin@wallacestate.edu
Bevill State CC Al Moore 205-648-3271,
ext. 5405
al.moore@bscc.edu
Shelton State CC Nicole Dubose 205-391-2251 ndubose@sheltonstate.edu

FIND A COLLEGE

JOB POSTINGS

CONTACT US