Non-Credit Workforce Development Education and Training

Alabama community colleges offers non-credit workforce training and education through their workforce solutions departments that include workforce training, professional development, customized training for business and industry, continuing education, and personal enrichment courses. The goal of workforce training is to increase individual opportunity in the labor market and to improve the knowledge, skills and abilities of the student.

Workforce training is provided to individuals, whether employed or unemployed, and is designed to meet the employment needs of the student and/or employer by enhancing occupational, technical, and/or soft skills that include professionalism, effective communication, collaboration and teamwork, and critical thinking and problems solving.

Customized training for business and industry includes training purposed to develop or enhance the skills of existing employees that support the businesses specific employee development needs.  Examples of the types of business and industry training and services include training in Environmental Health and Safety, Quality and Continuous Improvement, Leadership Organization Development, and employee skill assessment.

Students enrolled in non-credit workforce training are considered community College students and thus any non-credit course taken will be listed on the student’s official college transcript. Even though no institutional credit is awarded toward a degree, diploma or certificate, in many cases, non-credit courses lead to a certification or an industry recognized credential.  Also, competencies and skills attained through non-credit workforce training courses may be applicable toward a prior learning credit or for articulated credit in a for-credit degree program.

Close
Get Directions
'; ';
Options hide options
Print Reset
Fetching directions...
Bevill State community college building

Bevill State Community College

Wendy Jenkins
wendy.jenkins@bscc.edu
205.387.0511 ext 5713

Connie Carmichael
connie.carmichael@bscc.edu
205.648.3271 ext 5433

Learn More
Bishop State building with a student walking out
Learn More
Calhoun community college building with green grass
Learn More
View of Central Alabama Community College across a body of water
Learn More
Learn More
Learn More
DRAKE STATE Community and Technical College Building
Learn More
Enterprise State Community College Building

Enterprise State Community College

Caitlin Cawley
ccawley@escc.edu
334.347.2623 ext 2340

Learn More
Learn More
Learn More

Lawson State Community College

Kamille Smith
ksmith@lawsonstate.edu
205.929.3432

James Gray
jgray@lawsonstate.edu
205.929.3519

Learn More
Learn More

Northeast Alabama Community College

Julie George
georgej@nacc.edu
256.638.4418 ext 2214

Learn More
Learn More

Reid State Technical College

Clarinda Mixon
cmixon@rstc.edu
251.578.1313 ext 101

Learn More
Shelton State building and clocktower at sunset
Learn More
Learn More
Southern Union Building

Southern Union State Community College

Michelle Etris
metris@suscc.edu
334.745.6437 ext 5490

Melinda Clanton
mclanton@suscc.edu
334.745.6437 ext 5514

Learn More
Learn More
Learn More
Learn More
Learn More

FIND A COLLEGE

JOB POSTINGS

CONTACT US

FIND A COLLEGE
NEAR YOU