More than $58,000 total in scholarships was announced for 48 of the Alabama Community College System’s (ACCS) top scholars across the state during the 2023 All-Alabama Academic Team Recognition Program at the Embassy Suites Birmingham on Friday, April 14.

The students were selected from their colleges by members of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for the students’ demonstration of academic excellence and intellectual rigor, leadership and service, and for a commitment to extending their education beyond the classroom to benefit society.

Two of the students, Will Keller of Northeast Alabama Community College, and Darcy Antone of Bishop State Community College, were also recognized nationally. Keller was the only student selected in Alabama as a New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar, awarded an additional $2,250 scholarship.

Darcy was the only student selected in Alabama for the New Century Workforce Pathway Scholarship that recognized the most outstanding workforce-bound student from each state, receiving an additional $1,250 scholarship

The All-Alabama Academic Team recognition program was founded in 1995 to complement the All-USA Academic Team Program that is sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

2023 All-Alabama Academic Team members are:

Ariel Colburn and Hunter Miller; Bevill State Community College

Celyse Drew-Robinson and Darcy Antone; Bishop State Community College

Tatiana Cherry and Hannah Edmonds; Calhoun Community College

Lexi Garrett and Kaylei Horn; Central Alabama Community College

Alexis Nicole Becker and Nyah Alexie Rolle; Chattahoochee Valley Community College

Amelia Jordan and Kiarra Marion, Coastal Alabama Community College

Alan Duke and Jawanna Tene Cade; Drake State Community and Technical College

Liberty Bull and Alexis Lopez; Enterprise State Community College

Vanessa Cochran and Anabel Dillingham; Gadsden State Community College

Robert Johnson and Richard Redmond; Ingram State Technical College

Wyatt Combs and Kibryn Sawtelle; Jefferson State Community College

Nakeria Denise Jenkins and Mililani Johnson Stewart, Lawson State Community College

Jaden Williams and Jordan E. Freeman; Lurleen B. Wallace Community College

John Cade Tunnell and Jessica Cross; Marion Military Institute

Olivia Tucker and Will Keller; Northeast Alabama Community College

Hannah Foster and Alana Jenkins; Northwest-Shoals Community College

James Walker and Amelia Jayed McHaney; Reid State Technical College

Jenna Peitsch and Raniya Brockington; Shelton State Community College

Amber Lopez and Marisol Ramos Lopez; Snead State Community College

Elijah McWhorter and Alyssa Hurst; Southern Union State Community College

Nykeria Harris and Lily Martin; Trenholm State Community College

Jammie Sanchez and Natalia Lara-Trejo; Wallace Community Colllege-Dothan

Aja Wiltshire and Janet Flemmon – Wallace Community College – Selma

Michaiah Carson and Grayton Green – Wallace State Community College