MONTGOMERY – On Wednesday, four new members of the Alabama Community College System Board of Trustees were sworn in by Alabama Supreme Court Justice Jay Mitchell prior to the start of their first meeting. The Board is the governing body of the ACCS.

Each member was appointed by Governor Kay Ivey and confirmed by the Alabama Senate. Their terms began May 8, 2021, and will run through May 7, 2025. The new members include:

  • J.E.B. Shell, District 1
  • Valerie G. Gray, District 3
  • Llevelyn D. Rhone, District 7
  • Goodrich ‘Dus’ A. Rogers, District 5

The board selected Milton Davis as Chairman, replacing outgoing board member Al Thompson, who served as chair since 2015. The board also selected Blake McAnally as Vice Chairman, a position previously held by Mr. Davis.

“The Alabama Community College System Board of Trustees was established just 6 years ago and since that time the System has implemented sweeping efforts to unify the state’s 24 community and technical colleges, ushering in a new era of productivity, efficiency, and service,” said ACCS Chancellor Jimmy H. Baker. “Our board members play an important role in guiding the efforts of our System and helping us to ensure that every student across the state, regardless of their location, has access to high-quality, affordable education and skills training to improve their future. I’m confident that with the leadership of our Board we will continue to make great strides in improving outcomes for Alabamians.”

For additional information on the ACCS Board of Trustees, including member bios, please visit: