Training that gets you started

Ready to Work is one of several of Alabama’s community college free training programs that prepares adults with the skills they need to get hired. The focus of RTW is to make sure future workers have the basic, entry-level skills they need to succeed in working at most of Alabama’s businesses and industries.

RTW participants take classes online through our colleges within six self-paced modules. Each module has an assessment. We provide a participant guide inside each lesson that helps you prepare for the lesson.

ACCS Success Video: Krystal McAnelly

After accepting a temp job, Krystal McAnelly enrolled in a Ready to Work session at Snead State Community College’s Arab campus which gave her the qualities her company wanted to hire her full-time with benefits.

What participants can gain:

Employers trust our colleges’ credentials. These are the credentials RTW participants gain after completing the program:

  • ACT’s National Career Readiness Certificate (NCRC)
  • Alabama Certified Worker Certificate (AWC)
  • One free college course (up to 4 credit hours)

In addition to credentials, participants gain support, build confidence, improve their opportunities, and get access to ongoing skill upgrades and lifelong learning.

Get started



New!
Students at Coastal, Enterprise State, Jefferson State, Lawson State and Shelton State can now participate in JumpStart AL. JumpStartAL is a new and exciting VR-based education and training program designed to develop Alabama’s next generation of skilled labor. Alabama’s community college students at our five pilot colleges will be able to engage in the program through Ready to Work. Click this link to find out more about specific offerings near you.

If you’re looking for work in Alabama, it’s a good idea to get started with RTW today. Here is the portal to workforce training and materials. If you would like to enter a program: click on this link to fill out the form and an instructor will contact you regarding enrollment.

If you’re already an RTW student who started training, e-mail your Ready to Work instructor for access.

MSSC

Have you thought about making good money on a production line? What about robotics or other careers that require advanced computer skills? MSSC (Manufacturing Skill Standards Council) is the smart start to get to the job that you want.

Get certification in less than two months for a job with a good income. The four to six-week Certified Production Technician (CPT) program through MSSC awards certificates in Safety, Quality Practices & Measurement, Manufacturing Processes & Production, and Maintenance Awareness and Green Production. Do these sound like skills that you need? Call your local Adult Education program to get started today.

Resources

ACCS Coronavirus Updates & Resources
Coronavirus COVID-19 in Alabama Update

Contact

Courtney Monnette
Education Specialist
Ready to Work
Alabama Community College System
135 South Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
courtney.monnette@accs.edu
334-293-4590

Technology Resources to help with Online Classes

RTW College Contacts

College Name Email
Bevill State CC Stephanie Maddox
Martha Kimbrell
Stephanie.maddox@bscc.edu
martha.kimbrell@bscc.edu
Bishop State CC Akareem Spears aspears@bishop.edu
Calhoun CC Denise Boswell
Mindi Russell
Tawana.boswell@calhoun.edu
mindi.russell@calhoun.edu
Central Alabama CC Phyllis Kelley pkelley@cacc.edu
Chattahoochee Valley CC Shirley Armstrong
Darren Dean
shirley.armstrong@cv.edu
Darren.dean@cv.edu
Coastal Alabama CC Courtney Diaz courtney.diaz@coastalalabama.edu 
Drake State TC Gail Walker gail.walker@drakestate.edu
Enterprise State CC Steven Graves sgraves@escc.edu
Gadsden State CC Christopher Hopper
Chad Carney
Patricia Watts
chopper@gadsdenstate.edu
jcarney@gadsdenstate.edu
pwatts@gadsdenstate.edu
Ingram State TC Fawn Romine fawn.romine@istc.edu
Jefferson State CC Tamara Payne tlpayne@jeffersonstate.edu
Lawson State CC Dorothy Henry dhenry@lawsonstate.edu
Lurleen B. Wallace CC Jennifer Hall jmh@lbwcc.edu
Northeast Alabama CC Melissa Ledbetter
Jon-Alan Pope
ledbetterm@nacc.edu
popej@nacc.edu
Northwest Shoals CC Tara Branscome tbranscome@nwscc.edu
Reid State TC Caroll Byrd-Lymon cbyrd@rstc.edu
Shelton State CC Nicole Dubose ndubose@sheltonstate.edu
Snead State CC Cherri Barnard
Teresa Walker
cbarnard@snead.edu
teresa.walker@snead.edu
Southern Union State CC Greg Leikvold
Kristy Pulsifer
gleikvold@suscc.edu
kpulsifer@suscc.edu
Trenholm State CC Regina Jones
Carolyn Millender
rjones@trenholmstate.edu
cmillender@trenholmstate.edu
Wallace Dothan Joe Johnson jjohnson@wallace.edu
Wallace Hanceville Jamie Blackmon Jamie.blackmon@wallacestate.edu
Wallace Selma Anne Williams anne.williams@wccs.edu

FIND A COLLEGE

JOB POSTINGS

CONTACT US

FIND A COLLEGE
NEAR YOU